Ambushed in a Starbucks

Today I was ambushed in a Starbucks with a hand shake. An older gentleman walked up to me as I was topping off my coffee with some low fat milk, his hand extended and a smile on his face. I shook his hand as he said “Thank You Sergeant, I appreciate everything you guys do for us”. I graciously accepted the hand shake as he started to tell me a story.

He said that when the day started off he was angry at police officers because he was pulled over and he received a citation from a California Highway Patrol Officer, while on his way to work. He explained to me as the day went on he started thinking about how this ticket would ruin his perfect driving record of thirty years. That’s when it hit him though his driving record was officially perfect his daily driving was not. He told me that he had probably committed a traffic violation almost every day that he has been driving. He said he had done almost every violation in the book from speeding, running the accidental red light to following too close, he continued to give me a lengthy list. After a short time that’s when he told me his only real up close contact with an officer was when he received the citation today. He always knew we were there if he needed us all he had to do was ask for help, it just never occurred to him that we are just people. He told me that’s why he wanted to shake my hand so he could end the day on a positive note.

There were other people standing near and were obviously listening to our conversation and as the gentleman walked away, another person insisted on shaking my hand. As I walked out of the Starbucks a women holding her child’s hand held the door open for me and she introduced me to her son and she thanked me as I walked away.

~ by fugitive watch on December 13, 2007.

2 Responses to “Ambushed in a Starbucks”

  1. tHANK YOU FOR SHARING. YOU DO DESERVE TO BE APPRECIATED,

  2. All too often we forget to say thank you to people that make a difference in our lives. We show appreciation to our parents, family and friends… but more often than not forget to take a moment and say thank you to the men and women in uniform. Next time I am in a Starbucks, or Dunkin Doughnuts, I will be sure to look around and say thsank you officer, for making a difference… You are appreciated…

Leave a Reply

 
